Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

ioFTPD General New releases, comments, questions regarding the latest version of ioFTPD.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-27-2004, 07:13 AM   #1
EwarWoo
Senior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 462
Default 426 Connection closed: The specified network name is no longer available

Hi guys

I've recently been hooked up to DSL and I am going via a router/switch/firewall combo type box.
Since then I keep getting this error:
[R] 426 Connection closed: The specified network name is no longer available.
[L] 426 Data connection: Illegal seek.
[R] Transfer Failed!
Its definately something with the router, as I've tried on both machines connecting to it and same result, I'm just not sure where to start on trying to fix it, never had a router before so a bit of a n00b in this area.
I connect to ioFTPD via the external IP and I am fxp'ing to myself if any of that makes a difference
Any ideas will be much appreciated.

Cheers
EwarWoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 03:25 PM   #2
neoxed
Too much time...
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Scripter
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 1,326
Default Re: 426 Connection closed: The specified network name is no longer available

Quote:
Originally posted by EwarWoo
[R] 426 Connection closed: The specified network name is no longer available.
[L] 426 Data connection: Illegal seek.
[R] Transfer Failed!
Which FTP server is sending and which is receiving?

I am guessing that R (right) is the receiving server and L (left) is the sending server. The 'Illegal seek' message is probably a drive or file system error (or a bug), which then caused the data connection (transfer) to be aborted. When the receiving server attempts to receive data, the ERROR_NETNAME_DELETED (The specified network name is no longer available.) error is returned since the connection is no longer valid.
neoxed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2004, 06:29 PM   #3
EwarWoo
Senior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
ioFTPD Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 462
Default

Thanks for the reply Neo. And you're right, [R] is the receiving.
And the 426 is caused by the specified network name.....etc. Its definately a network error and not an hd one, however unfortunately have no idea how to go about fixing. Hehe
EwarWoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2004, 11:50 AM   #4
Mouton
Posse Member
Ultimate Scripter
ioFTPD Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,956
Default

U didn't understand what neoxed said.
The [L] side tries to send a file, but can't because the HD is bad or something similar.
The [R] side then tried to connect to receive the file, but the [L] side already closed the socket which would be used for that, so [R] returns an error.
Mouton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2004, 04:00 AM   #5
thewarden
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 194
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EwarWoo
Thanks for the reply Neo. And you're right, [R] is the receiving.
And the 426 is caused by the specified network name.....etc. Its definately a network error and not an hd one, however unfortunately have no idea how to go about fixing. Hehe

Network errors are easy to fix - but the issue is this, do you
have access to both networks - that is the issue...

If the error is on your end as I assume, as you are trying to
fxp to YOUR system and then the error takes place - YES ?


If so, then --- Try this: the easy way first...


Log into your system (user or admin) and make sure you DO USE
a password...NOT AUTO...

Remap your network drives and as you make the mappings you
will see a section there where it ASKS for a PASSWORD for the
current user or admin....use this section...and use your
PASSWORD to map your drives to that person...

THEN -

each log on = password

each session will "NOT" go into MS DUMB MODE and send you
it can not find your network drives.

This is the easy way to see if that is the issue...which in most
cases of a lost network device - it is...

Hope this did it for you.

TW
thewarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
426, connection, longer, router, [r]

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why do i get this error ? twisted General Discussion 0 05-02-2005 11:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)