Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > > >

ioFTPD General New releases, comments, questions regarding the latest version of ioFTPD.

Old 12-13-2011, 05:50 PM   #1
karlmarius
FlashFXP Registered User

Question Beginner help to setup permissions

Hi!

I'm totally new to ioftpd.
I've managed to get the server up and running with ssl, but have trouble with understanding how to set correct permissions...

So I want all user that are in my "OWNERS" group to have full access to the server, including uploading to all directories. As now I cant't upload anything anywhere

I also want regular users to be able to upload to a dir called "Upload", and download anything, this group is called "Regular".

can somebody give an example on what to put in the config file straight out. have tried, but don't understand the config apparently

Also, is there something else that needs to be configured else than the ini file ?

All help is really appreciated!
karlmarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 12:00 PM   #2
Flow
FlashFXP Beta Tester
ioFTPD Foundation User

read /etc/default.vfs file.

users added to site can be set to use different .vfs file (Virtual File System)
Flow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 01:10 PM   #3
karlmarius
FlashFXP Registered User

So the way to go is to use different vfs for different groups? Is this required to achieve what i ant here. It's not possible to set different permissions for different groups with just one vfs?
Old 12-14-2011, 03:16 PM   #4
thedepartedone

also look under ### PERMISSIONS ### in ioftpd.ini , by default , if i remember correctly, it has the path /incoming/* as the only location they can delete, upload, rename, etc... and by default i think it is also set so that only those with 1M flags can do those tasks.
thedepartedone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 03:40 PM   #5
karlmarius
FlashFXP Registered User

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flow View Post
read /etc/default.vfs file.