Go Back   FlashFXP Forums > > >

Bug Reports Report bugs here.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-22-2006, 02:32 AM   #1
jptech
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7
Exclamation 100% cpu utilization and thread corruption

flashfxp locks up, cpu usage goes to 100% (50% because of dual processors)
when I end task, explorer.exe goes to 100% (50% because of dual)
I end explorer.exe and restart it. it locks up and stays at 100%
while it is at 100% I can use flashfxp
when I end explorer, flashfxp goes to 100% and then I can start explorer.exe again.

trying to connect to different sites, mostly on internal 100Mbit network.
this has happened since 2.x
different computer since then, different os install, different firewall, and AV
both computers were dual processor.
happens when transfering many small files

as far as I can tell the only common link here is dual processors.

* FlashFXP v[3 ].[4 ], latest, registered (doesn't matter though)
* OS WinXP
* Running behind NAT/router Yes & Model linux server w/ iptables
* Running firewall Yes, kaspersky anti-hacker v5 (doesn't matter)
* Running Antivirus Yes, kaspersky AV v5 (doesn't matter)
* Network xDSL, 100Mbit

additional info if related
* FTP server vsftpd-2.0.2-3 and proftpd 1.2
* timestamped, and side prefixed FTP log
last few lines in log. while locked up
[R] PASV
[R] 227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,0,1,136,210).
[R] Opening data connection IP: 192.168.0.1 PORT: 35026
[R] RETR FF5A08.MID
[R] 150 Opening BINARY mode data connection for FF5A08.MID (8363 bytes)
[R] 226 Transfer complete.
Transferred: FF5A08.MID 8 KB in 0.06 seconds (129.6 KB/s)
[R] PASV
[R] 227 Entering Passive Mode (192,168,0,1,136,211).
[R] Opening data connection IP: 192.168.0.1 PORT: 35027
[R] RETR FF5A13.MID
[R] 150 Opening BINARY mode data connection for FF5A13.MID (15177 bytes)
[R] 226 Transfer complete.
Transferred: FF5A13.MID 14 KB in 0.05 seconds (315.3 KB/s)
jptech is offline  
Old 01-22-2006, 07:43 PM   #2
Hetfield
Senior Member
FlashFXP Scripter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 334
Default

Well i'm running dual processor workstations for as long as i can remember (well almost..) and i never had any problem with FlashFXP related to SMP. I'm not saying it can't be your problem though, but it's not as likely as you may think.
Hetfield is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 02:05 PM   #3
bear78
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Default

Same problem, not dual processor though

I experienced the same issue. I don't have dual processors but I narrowed the problem down to transfering many many small files. (maybe a memory isn't deallocated or similar?)

I get the same problem, flashfxp cpu usage goes up to 100% after transfering for a while. When I kill the process I can restart it and transfer for a while again but finally it locks up the computer again. When I then kill flashfxp explorer.exe goes up to 100% cpu usage and the computer jams. Often I can't even resolve from this state without doing a hard shutdown of the computer. pull cable/push and hold power button.

I did a test just a minute ago where I transfered a large amount of small files where I stopped the upload after a while, restarted flashfxp and continue to transfer the cue. This prevented flashfxp from going up to 100% cpu usage, which could point at som sort of memory issue or something in that field.

What do you think?

* FlashFXP v[3].[2.0], build [1080], [x]registered, [ ]unregistered, [ ]pirated
* OS [x] WinXP, [ ] Win2K, [ ] Win98, [ ] WinME, [ ] Other
* Running behind NAT/router [x] Yes & Model [Netgear WGT624 v2], [ ] No, [ ] Not sure
* Running firewall [x] Yes, Name [Symantec client firewall], Ver. [7.1.3.1039], or [ ] No
* Running Antivirus [x] Yes, Name [Symantec Antivirus 9.0.3.1000] or [ ] No
* Network [ ] xDSL, [x] CABLE, [ ] Dail-Up, [ ] Other

additional info if related
* FTP server(s) name [Gene6 FTP server], version [3.6.0]
bear78 is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 02:20 PM   #4
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

Quote:
Same problem, not dual processor though

I experienced the same issue. I don't have dual processors but I narrowed the problem down to transfering many many small files. (maybe a memory isn't deallocated or similar?)....................snip
For reference, exactly how many files are you talking about?

I've done tests where I transfer the entire content of a hard drive (50+gb, 100,000+ files) from one machine to another over my local network using FlashFXP without any problems at all.

You might consider is trying the current beta release of FlashFXP. It contains many improvements and fixes that might give you better stablity with FlashFXP. http://www.inicom.net/pages/en.ffxp-beta.php

I would also look at other factors that may contribute to the stablity of FlashFXP. Specifically your software firewall. Software firewalls don't fair too well when an application has to open as many connections as a ftp client does. Especially when transferring many files and each file transfer uses a new connection.
bigstar is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 02:33 PM   #5
jptech
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 7
Exclamation current beta

I always use the most current beta release available.

now remember this problem has happened to me for a few years with many different ffxp releases and I haven't always had a firewall installed. most of the time there was no firewall installed, not even windows firewall. (which I normally have disabled)

I think bear78 is right about many small files. which is usually when it locks up.

file size is normally under 100K and there's usually more than 100 files.

and, they're always being transferred across my 100mbit lan. not the internet.
jptech is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 02:49 PM   #6
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

I'm at a loss, I was not able to reproduce this behavior. I spent all day yesterday trying to reproduce it.

I tested 3 different machines, two were windows XP SP2 and the other was Windows 2003 server. I used several testing applications, no leaks, no memory overwrites, and no memory corruption was detected.
bigstar is offline  
Old 02-08-2006, 11:12 AM   #7
Hetfield
Senior Member
FlashFXP Scripter
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 334
Default

I was unable to reproduce it too. I have a dual processor computer with Windows XP SP2 and i queued really alot of small files (>4000) over my 100mbit lan and FlashFXP handled them excellent.
Hetfield is offline  
Old 02-17-2006, 12:35 PM   #8
TWDesigns
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I am having the same problem.. almost.

After a while of using it, 20min or so, it starts to kill my cpu. I noticed it earlier when a mp3 i was listening to started locking up. I checked and flashfxp was using 90+ cpu when I transfered files. I was only transfering a couple of files, CSS so they were small. If I close flashfxp and restart it everything is fine for another 20-30min or so.

Going to try uninstalling and reinstalling in a few to see if something happened from a windows update or something.

-------------------------------
I have no idea why my user name is my email lol. Can that be changed somewhere?
TWDesigns is offline  
Old 02-24-2006, 07:52 PM   #9
jd1
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default 99% lockup CPU

Quote:
Originally Posted by jptech
flashfxp locks up, cpu usage goes to 100% (50% because of dual processors)
when I end task, explorer.exe goes to 100% (50% because of dual)
I end explorer.exe and restart it. it locks up and stays at 100%
while it is at 100% I can use flashfxp
when I end explorer, flashfxp goes to 100% and then I can start explorer.exe again.
I have had this exact same problem (flash pegs, then explorer pegs) for the 2 years that I have used flashfxp, on 2 different computers. The problem happens when connected to various sources, at seemingly random times. I have used many versions of flashfxp, and I upgrade everytime hoping and praying that this time the problem will be fixed. Funny, I don't have dual procs, but the only thing that is the same about my 2 PC's is that I use dual displays with an NVIDIA card. The card is a different model now--7800GT vs a FX5200 before. However, I do use the same Adaptec SCSI 29160N card in this machine as I did in the other....but that is it.

In my case, it always seems to happen when flashfxp is not in focus. In fact, if I minimize it, it is pretty much certain to lockup on me.

I have friends that use this app, never have problems, and love it. That is why I bought it, and haven't give up on it yet.

If anyone has any ideas on this, I would love to hear it.

-Tpneumat-


current system
-----------------
Software:
Microsoft Windows XP Pro SPII (firewall on)
FlashFXP(build 1080)

Hardware:
MB ASROCK 939Dual-SATA2 M1695 939 - Retail
MEM 1Gx2|MUSHKIN 184P D400 991434 R - Retail
CPU AMD 64 |3200+ ATHLON 64 939P RT - Retail
MNTR SMSNG|LCD 21"8MS DVI 214T-BLACK - Retail
MNTR SMSNG|LCD 19 DVI 191T-BLACK - Retail
VGA XFX N 7800GT 256M PVT70GUDF7 R - Retail
DVD+/-RW ASUS BK DRW-1608P2
jd1 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 05:08 PM   #10
jd1
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

I think I found a work around. Turns out that Desktop Manager with gridlines for the Nvida card is causing the lockups. I have been a longtime user of the gridlines and of the Desktop Manager for Nvdia cards. This explains it. Not sure why nvidia drivers are doing that...but I don't have time to worry about it.
jd1 is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 05:45 PM   #11
bigstar
FlashFXP Developer
FlashFXP Administrator
ioFTPD Beta Tester
 
bigstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 8,012
Default

I will look into this, thanks for the update.
bigstar is offline  
Old 03-30-2006, 06:03 PM   #12
jd1
Junior Member
FlashFXP Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

http://www.nvidia.com/object/feature_nview.html
It comes with the drivers for any Nvidia card. The download can be found here.
http://www.nvidia.com/object/winxp-2k_archive.html

My version of the driver that I am currently on is 7.7.7.7, which comes with Desktop Manager v 105.31.

I will upgrade to the latest drivers which are 84.21_forceware_winxp2k_english_whql.exe and test again. However, like I have said, I have been through dozens of versions with the same result.

Thanks for caring.

-Tpneumat-
jd1 is offline  
 

Tags
100%, flashfxp, ftp, opening, [r]

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is Off
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.

Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)