PDA

View Full Version : load balancing


NxN_Slite
11-23-2003, 11:23 PM
What i need

2x 100MBits conection
1 ioFTPD
2 thread of 100MBits

I wanted ot know is it posible to do load balancing in ioFTPD
exemple ip: 1.1.1.1/1.1.1.2
Both ip are Inet ip (pc conected direct to the internet)

I want people to conect to 1 ip and use the speed of the 2 ips


if its posible do I have to do the folowing

####Device#####
[Load1]
Host = 1.1.1.1
Port = 25050-26000
Random = True
Bind = 127.0.0.1

[Load2]
Host = 1.1.1.2
Port = 25050-26000
Random = True
Bind = 127.0.0.1

##### service #####

[Balancing_FTP]
Type = FTP
Device_Name = Load1 Load2
Port = 12345
Description = Load Balancing FTP
User_Limit = 100
Alowed_User = *
Messages = ..\test\ftp

[Network]
Active_Services = Balancing_FTP

Thanks for answering

darkone
11-24-2003, 01:18 AM
Use data devices.. :)

NxN_Slite
11-24-2003, 09:00 AM
####Device#####
[Load1]
Host = 1.1.1.1
Port = 25050-26000
Random = True
Bind = 127.0.0.1

[Load2]
Host = 1.1.1.2
Port = 25050-26000
Random = True
Bind = 127.0.0.1

##### service #####

[Balancing_FTP]
Type = FTP
Device_Name = Load1
Port = 12345
Description = Load Balancing FTP
User_Limit = 100
Alowed_User = *
Messages = ..\test\ftp

### Traffic Balancing ###

Data_Devices = Load1 Load2
Random_Devices = True

#####[Network]#####
Active_Services = Balancing_FTP

remember i want people to log only in 1.1.1.1 but use the speed of the 2 network card thanks

Razor
11-24-2003, 09:09 AM
will this make total speed 200mbit?

or still max 100mbit per treat?
:D

ADDiCT
11-24-2003, 09:17 AM
as far as i know, it's not possible to use the 2 * 100mbit for a single TCP connection

Superblue
11-24-2003, 09:46 AM
Why not bond the two 100mbit connections into a single adapter-team (etherchannel, etc?) at the data-connection level?

Unique
11-24-2003, 10:09 AM
Combining 2 network cards into 1 requires switch on isp side to allow/support it.
At least i think so, some universitys allow it...and i seen it working.
If theres another way to do it lemme know :D