PDA

View Full Version : KB down: 426 Connection closed error


oslike
02-02-2006, 07:45 AM
Hi,

the KB link doesnt work on this Question
What does this error message mean?

426 Connection closed: The specified network name is no longer available.

oslike

danielstinebaugh
05-20-2006, 03:28 PM
I wish someone would comment on this as I too recieve the same error. I am not behind a router that would give me the error that the KB explains so I'm at a loss. What's worse, is I can begin a download and everything works great, but half way through I recieve:

[13:05:42] 426 Connection closed: The specified network name is no longer available.
[13:05:42] Transfer failed.

neoxed
05-20-2006, 05:05 PM
It’s a generic message meaning “network connectivity problems”.

When the NT kernel was originally developed, Microsoft decided to create an entire new set of error codes used by NT, called “NT status codes”. To maintain backwards compatibility in the Windows Base API, NT status codes had to be translated back to the older style of error codes. Generally, this approach works quite well, but there are cases where the meaning is lost in translation (i.e. several NT status codes map to the same Windows error code).

The error code for this message, as defined in WinError.h is as follows:
//
// MessageId: ERROR_NETNAME_DELETED
//
// MessageText:
//
// The specified network name is no longer available.
//
Which means absolutely nothing to a user trying to figure out the cause of this error.

Here is where things get “fun”, the following NT status codes are mapped to ERROR_NETNAME_DELETED:
STATUS_NETWORK_NAME_DELETED
STATUS_LOCAL_DISCONNECT
STATUS_REMOTE_DISCONNECT
STATUS_ADDRESS_CLOSED
STATUS_CONNECTION_DISCONNECTED
STATUS_CONNECTION_RESET
Each of these errors on their own explains the problem better, but we only get to see a generic one encompassing all of them.

In short, there is no single explanation for your problem – it could be caused by a number of things:
Unreliable network cards
Unreliable drivers for network cards (try updating them)
Incorrect duplex settings
Misconfigured firewall, router, or some other network device
Internet service provider (not likely, but don't rule it out)

Here's a guide to troubleshooting network problems (http://support.microsoft.com/?scid=kb;EN-US;Q325487), probably won't be of much help but it is worth a shot. What brand and model is your network card, what kind of interface does it use (PCI, PCI-X, USB, etc.)?

danielstinebaugh
05-23-2006, 12:22 AM
So your saying that this is a hardware based issue and not the actual client. Cool that's at least a step for me in the right direction. Thanks for your promt reply :D

neoxed
05-23-2006, 02:48 AM
No no...I'm saying it could be anything.

I was just curious about which network cards you're using.

EwarWoo
05-23-2006, 04:12 AM
Yup, this is one of the hardest issues to fix. If its not a constant thing you'll make your life much easier by ignoring it.
Unfortunately thats what I had to do when I had it. Did seem to clear up of its own accord strangely but.

danielstinebaugh
05-25-2006, 11:54 PM
Currently I'm using a WPN311 RangeMax(TM) Wireless PCI Adapter and connecting to the rangemax netgear router (WPM824). However I'm just about ready to move so I'll be wired again soon. Been waiting for this day :D